(not to be) Missed Turkey & Istanbul Sites and Facts

summer 2009 / more feed with intelligence to refine your tours

Orhan Veli – I am listening to Istanbul

Istanbul Poem by A notable Turkish poet,  Orhan Veli :

LISTENING TO ISTANBUL
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
At first there is a light wind;
The leaves on the trees
Are gently swaying.
And far, faraway
The endless jingling of the water-sellers’ bells,
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
High above the birds are flying,
Flocks after flocks shrieking loudly.
In fish traps the nets are drawn;
A woman’s foot touches the water.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
Delightfully cool Covered Bazaar,
Busy, lively Mahmut Pasha,
Courtyards teeming with pigeons,
Sounds of hammering coming from the docks.
Smell of sweat in the lovely spring breeze.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
Drunk with its old time memories,
A seaside mansion with gloomy boathouses,
Amid the humming of waning south winds,
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
A sexy girl is passing by on the sidewalk –
Curses songs ditties taunts…
Something in her hand falls to the ground
It must be a rose.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
I am listening to Istanbul, with my eyes closed.
Round the edges of your skirt a twittering bird;
I know if your brow is hot or cold,
I know if your lips are moist or dry.
I can sense that from the beatings of your heart.
A pale moon is rising behind the umbrella pines;
I am listening to Istanbul.
Orhan Veli

February 20, 2010 - Posted by | 1 | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

